Funny Books for Kids Who Love Diary of a Wimpy Kid

This post may contain affiliate links.
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

If your kids like the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, you’ll want to find funny read-alike books to read next that will keep your children engaged in reading. This book list contains books that are just as hilarious and appealing to kids as the Diary books. Happy reading!

Funny Books for Kids Who Love Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Galactic Hot Dogs: Cosmoe’s Wiener Getaway
by Max Brallier, illustrated by Rachel Maguire and Nichole Kelley
Kids LOVE this series. It’s got non-stop action, danger, potty humor, space adventures, zombie aliens, mutant worm wrestling, a misunderstood evil princess, good friends, video games, and a diabolical, hunting-them-down evil queen. Not to mention the loads of cartoon illustrations throughout and hilarious writing with a kazillion exclamation marks!!!!

books for kids who like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Bird and Squirrel
 on Ice
 
by James Burks
Bird’s over-confident, laissez-faire character pairs perfectly with Squirrel’s logical, fearful one. The duo crash land in the Penguin world where Bird is thought to be the “Chosen One” meant to save the penguins from the Great Whale. Except there’s a slight problem because that also means he’ll be sacrificed. An absolutely hysterical graphic novel series!

read alike books for kids who like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Phoebe and Her Unicorn: A Heavenly Nostrils Chronicle
by Dana Simpson
Sarcastic and hilarious, this is a laugh-out-loud comic book story about a precocious young girl and her reluctant unicorn “best friend.” BOXED SET

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Big Nate
by Lincoln Peirce
Big Nate books will keep you laughing — most are a combo of text and comics like this one but now the Big Nate series is also in graphic novel form. Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans are going to crack up when they read this series of side-splitting books.


Hamster Princess Good Funny Books Kids Love Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Hamster Princess Harriet the Invincible by Ursula Vernon
HILARIOUS remix of Sleeping Beauty. In this (much better) retelling, the princess realizes she can’t die until she’s 18 so therefore, she must be INVINCIBLE!! (All of the books in this series are laugh-out-loud funny.)

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja
by Marcus Emerson
I thought this was not just a great story but I just loved that the main character (the ninja) was a girl! Readers will appreciate how it’s written in a combo of text and comics like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Worst Class Trip Ever
 by Dave Barry
Hilarious. Of course, because Dave Barry is so funny! While on a class trip to Washington D.C., Wyatt and his best friend, Matt, are positive that they’ve discovered a plot to blow up the White House. Wyatt’s crush, Suzanna, helps the friends make a plan, and as you can imagine, disaster and hilarity strike. I totally loved this book and know your kids (especially those who like humor) will as well.

Good Book Series for kids who like The Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett and Jory John, illustrated by Kevin Cornell
If you like funny books, you’ll LOVE this series! In this first book, you’ll learn valuable cow trivia while you read about the hilarious adventure of two pranksters who start out as rivals but eventually work together to pull off the biggest prank of all time — a prank that will ensure they get April Fool’s Day off from school.

books for kids who like diary of a wimpy kid FORTUNATELY the Milk
Fortunately, the Milk
by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Skottie Young HUMOR
If you like quirky humor, then this is your perfect book. Because you will never believe, except you totally will, what happens when the kids’ father goes out to get more milk. He doesn’t even get the milk but he does run into pirates, aliens, and all sorts of incredible things! Totally hilarious and quite short–which is appealing to many readers.

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Tapper Twins Go to War (with each other)
 by Geoff Rodkey
Is this a true-to-life depiction of twins? As the pair seeks revenge upon each other, they feel justified and sort of guilty at the same time. (Of course, this doesn’t stop either of them.) Written in interviews, text messages, photos, handwritten additions, and screenshots, it will be engaging to our kids who live with these styles of communications every day.

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Croc Ate My Homework
 by Stephan Pastis
This book is so funny I can hardly stand it. My kids LOVED this book, as did I. It’s from the author of the Timmy Failure books and the Pearls Before Swine comic strip which curated especially for younger readers. The crocs are not the smartest and their stupidity will keep you giggling. So much so that you’ll be sharing page after page with your family, friends, and neighbors.

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Mal and Chad 
by Stephen McCranie
I hate to compare books but this is like the Calvin and Hobbs for the next generation. It’s a hilarious graphic novel with the real-life misadventures of a boy and his dog.

books for kids who like Diary of a WImpy Kid
My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish by Mo O’Hara
Totally believable . . . if your goldfish dies and you bring him back to life. Only in this story, your dead goldfish doesn’t come back to life, he becomes a zombie. One that can mesmerize YOU with his powerful eyes and you’ll do anything he wants so you better watch out!

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Dragonbreath
by Ursula Vernon
Hysterical! I couldn’t stop laughing! This is such a funny series about a young dragon. Plus, you’ll love that there are so many books to keep your kids reading for days and weeks on end.


Max and the Midknights
by Lincoln Peirce
Written and illustrated by the author of the popular Big Nate books, this new series is about a girl named Max and her new friends who help to rescue Max’s imprisoned troubadour uncle from an evil king, among other adventures. You’ll find a magician, dragons, magic, an evil witch, anachronisms, and silly humor in this story that is half text and half comic panel illustrations. It’s good enough to keep readers reading but I didn’t find it as compelling as the Big Nate books.

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Perilous Princess Plot (Buckle and Squash)
 
by Sarah Courtlauld
Very sarcastic and funny humor will keep you entertained throughout this book about a silly sister obsessed with princes. Her more steady sister must rescue her silly sister from a kidnapping plot. Also, the great illustrations will help beginning readers enjoy this beginning chapter book.

Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Frankie Pickle
by Eric Wight
Your kids will totally relate to this imaginative boy whose wild adventures are written in comic form — it’s funny and entertaining!

FLora and Ulysses books for kids who love Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo
Quirky and delightful, this is the tale of a girl named Flora who rescues a squirrel and keeps it as a friend. Together they experience the world in a unique, funny, and wonderful way, and straighten it out, too.

stick dog
Stick Dog 
by Tom Watson
Silly. Very silly.  Stick drawings of a stick dog, a very sarcastic-ish narrator, and a relatable adventure make this perfect for Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans.

books for kids who like diary of a wimpy kid
Get to Work, Hercules! (Myth-O-Mania) 
by Kate McMullan
This book got us hooked on the Myth-O-Mania series. It’s so hilarious! Hades narrates the TRUE stories of the Greek Myths with panache. (Apparently, his younger brother Zeus is a big fat liar and edited all the myths to make himself look good.) In this story, Hades watches over his young, not-too-smart nephew, Hercules whom Hera has it out for — since he’s the son of Zeus from another woman. Wimpy Kid fans will RAVE about these goofy stories.

More Similar Books for Kids Who Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

books for kids who like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Middle School: The Worst Years of my Life
by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts, illustrated by Laura Park
A totally hilarious premise and fantastic writing! Rafe’s goal in middle school is to break every single rule. You can imagine how his plan will go, right? Filled with cartoon-like illustrations, this story is going to crack you up.

timmy
Timmy Failure
by Stephan Pastis
Lots of kids love these books and rightfully so, they’re silly and relatable! If your Diary of a Wimpy Kid fan hasn’t checked this series out yet, put it on the top of your list to read.

vordak
Vordak the Incomprehensible
by Vordak T. Incomprehensible
I haven’t laughed like this when reading a book in years – too funny! It’s pee-your-pants funny. Because the evil villain Vordak accidentally transformed himself into a middle schooler.

wayside school
Wayside School
by Louis Sachar
Old school humor at it’s best! These describe a wacky school with crazy teachers and even crazier events. Boys and girl fans of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books love this series.

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
How to Train Your Dragon
by Cressida Cowell
Fan favorites for years and with bonus movies, these are fun for book clubs and field trips. Read the books, then watch the movies.

The Twits funny books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
The Twits by Roald Dahl
In the typical dark humor of Dahl, the Twits are mean and awful and we can’t help but crack up at every bad thing that comes their way. Perfect for the Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans who love to laugh while reading. *ALL Roald Dahl books are funny. See complete Roald Dahl book list and printable booklet here.* 

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Knucklehead Tall Tales & Mostly True Stories of Growing Up Scieszka
by Jon Scieszka
Growing up Scieszka was a WILD time and will crack you up with the fantastic, humorous writing. I use this book frequently for teaching small moments and memoir.

books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Lunch Lady 
by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
If you haven’t read these addictive and hilarious graphic novels, they are a must — anyone who has eaten lunch in school will appreciate the humor, even parents love these books.

Shredderman
Shredderman: Secret Identity
by Wendelin Van Draanen
Illustrated with comics, hilarious, relatable, this book has it all. Awesome.

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom diary of a wimpy kid read likes
The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
 by Christopher Healy, illustrated by Todd Harris
The princes in the fairy tales aren’t as famous as their princesses but in this story, it’s all about them! Kicked out of their castles, these princes turn from bumbling idiots into heroes and save their kingdoms with hilarity and adventure!

strange case
The Strange Case of the Origami Yoda 
by Tom Angleberger
This book is a bit harder of a reading level than the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books but is so fantastic with growing-up angst and silliness.

Books Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Alright Diary of a Wimpy Kid fans, I think you’ll really like these books! Have fun reading. 🙂

Also read: Funny Books for Kids

30 books to read after Diary of a Wimpy Kid

You Might Also Like:
Also See:

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest and Facebook for more ideas!

 

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

You Might Also Like

11 Responses

  1. Great post, Melissa. My kid likes this book a lot (and me too to be precise), and I will surely check out the rest you’ve mentioned. Thanks again for the list 🙂

    Cheers,
    Daniel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • WELCOME

    Hi! I’m Melissa Taylor, mom, writer, & former elementary teacher & literacy trainer. I love sharing good books & fun learning resources.

    More About Me

  • STAY INFORMED
    Enter your email address to receive updates on all of our book reviews.