If You Like Magnus Chase, You’ll Like These Other Norse Mythology Books

This post may contain affiliate links.
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

Affiliate Links You just finished the first Magnus Chase and The Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer (my review here), and now you’re an enthusiastic Norse mythology fan. That’s why I want to give you more books that are similar to Magnus Chase to keep you entertained until then next book in the series is published. These are books about Norse mythology for kids as well as chapter books that include Norse mythology or mythological elements.

Oh, and if you thought the original Brothers Grimm stories were bloody, they can’t hold a candle to the violence in the original Norse myths. But not to worry, I’ve only picked family-friendly books here. 🙂

Since the Norse myths weren’t often written down, many modern day authors take liberties with the myths as they see fit. Which is quite interesting. You’ll see when you read. In some books, Loki is just a trickster. In others, he’s downright evil. That sort of thing. That’s why some myths contradict each other. (Some of that also came from the original stories.)

Hope you love these as much as me. Enjoy!

Oh, and in case you missed it, please read my love and adoration for Magnus Chase: The Sword of Summer and you’ll also find many links to more background info on Norse Mythology.

Also read: The Best Greek Mythology Books for Kids

If You Like Magnus Chase, You’ll Like These Other Norse Mythology Books

Sea of Trolls Norse Mythology Books
Sea of Trolls
by Nancy Farmer
One of my favorite fantasy series!! The Sea of Trolls trilogy is an epic adventurous of Vikings, mages, slavery, and trolls and a boy trying to save his sister. I couldn’t put these books down.

Odd and the Frost Giants Norse Mythology Books
Odd and the Frost Giants
by Neil Gaiman
What a fantastic book this is. It’s about a boy named Odd whose mission is to save Asgard from the invading Frost Giants.

Brotherband Outcasts Norse Mythology Books
The Brotherband Chronicles
by John A. Flanagan
The Brotherband Chronicles is another amazing fantasy series that I recommend highly to anyone who loves action, danger, outcasts with incredible bravery and sea-faring adventures.

Merlin
The Lost Years: Book 1 (Merlin)
by T.A. Barron
Clearly, this series isn’t Norse but Britannic but it contains similar elements of magic, runes, and dragons. It’s a captivating look at Merlin’s coming-of-age. It’s another of my favorite fantasy series.

Loki's Wolves Norse Mythology Books for Kids
Loki’s Wolves
by K.L. Armstrong (series is The Blackwell Pages)
This story was only so-so for me, the pacing was slow and the characters didn’t engage me. However, many disagree so I’d give it a try. It takes place in the present-day town of Blackwell, South Dakota whose inhabitants are all descendants of either Thor or Loki and the kids must decide whose side they’ll be on.

How to Train Your Dragon
How to Train Your Dragon
by Cressida Cowell
I almost forgot to include this book! It’s about an unlikely hero named Hiccup, the son of the clan leader, who isn’t at all like his brave and fearsome dad. Or is he? It’s a funny and entertaining series.

You Wouldn't Want to Be a Viking Explorer
You Wouldn’t Want to Be a Viking Explorer
by Andrew Langley
I love this series for making history come alive. You get to be the main character and see what it would be like to live like a Viking. It’s informative in a fun, humorous way.

Frostborn Norse Mythology Books for Kids
Thrones and Bones
series by Lou Anders (Nightborn #2 and Frostborn #1)
A great Norse series! Two misfits — a boy named Karn who is only good at playing a Norse board game, and a girl named Thianna who is a half-human, half-giantess — unexpectedly partner to survive deadly soldiers, undead warriors, trolls, and a dragon. (As with the Magnus Chase book, I recommend using the glossary while you read.)

True Story of Unbelievable Fib Norse Mythology Books for Kids
The Entirely True Story of the Unbelievable Fib
by Adam Shaughnessy
This book just came out and I’m dying to read it. Apparently, Pru and ABE discover that Viking gods lurk in their town, must race to secure the Eye of Odin and stop a war.

Nonfiction Books for Kids Treasury of Norse Mythology- Stories of Intrigue, Trickery, Love, and Revenge
Treasury of Norse Mythology: Stories of Intrigue, Trickery, Love, and Revenge
 by Donna Jo Napoli, illustrations by Christina Balit
This is a large, kid-friendly collection of Nordic myths with colorful illustrations and informative insets explaining more about subjects such as the Berserkers and the Norse diet. Excellent!

Dover Coloring Gods and Goddesses Norse Books for Kids
Norse Gods and Goddesses
(Dover Coloring Book) by Jeff A. Menges
Read a bit about each god and goddess, then color in the character in action.

 norse mythology books for kids
Norse Mythology
by Neil Gaiman
If you’ve been a fan of Rick Riordan, you’re probably more knowledgeable about Norse mythology than most. Now, discover the major stories of this Northern culture from Neil Gaiman’s perspective. Gaiman shares stories of the beginning of the Gods, how the Nine Worlds were formed, how Odin lost one eye, the children of Loki, and so much more, all the way to Ragnarok. These stories are more bloody than the Greek pantheon but they are quite entertaining nonetheless and hard to put down once you get reading.

Lord of the Rings Norse Myths
The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien
Not specifically Norse, we know that Tolkien was greatly influenced by Beowulf and Norse mythology. In this series, you’ll find trolls, elves, dragons, magic, and many similar mythological elements that infuse the Nordic myths.

Beowulf Monster Slayer Norse Myths for Kids
Beowulf Monster Slayer
by Paul D. Storrie, pencils and inks by Ron Randall
The original epic poem, Beowulf, is a challenge to read — it’s in Old English. This is a full-color graphic novel story about the hero, Beowulf, who fights the monster Grendel for the Danes. (And is slo much easier than reading the Old English.)

Norse Myths for Kids
The D’Aulaires’ Book of Norse Myths
by Ingrid and Edgar Parin d’Aulaire
I wish they’d update this book’s font size but other than that, it’s a really good basic primer on the Norse Myths. (I know, reading glasses . . . !)

Gods of Asgard Norse comic books for kids
Gods of Asgard: a graphic novels interpretation of the Norse myths
by Erik A. Evensen
If you’re a comic book fan, check out this black-and-white graphic novel about the Gods of Asgard — Thor, Odin, Loki, and the rest. I haven’t read it but this particular book but it looks well-done.

Favorite Norse Myths kids
Favorite Norse Myths
retold by Mary Pope Osborne, illustrated by Troy Howell
Mary Pope Osborne is a good writer and these are easy-to-follow retellings of the Norse myths.

Explore Norse Myths 25 Great Projects - children's booksIf You Like Magnus Chase, You'll Like These Other Norse Mythology Books
Explore Norse Myths! With 25 Great Projects
by Anita Yasuda, illustrated by Bran Stone
Soon to be published, this book looks appropriate for younger kids and includes stories about Norse explorers like Erik the Red as well as comics, trivia, and jokes.

Usborne Norse Myths and Legends
Usborne Illustrated Guide to Norse Myths & Legends
retold by Cheryl Evans and Anne Millard, designed and illustrated by Rodney Matthews
I like this book because it’s designed more like a DK book with pictures throughout each page — making it easy to skim and more interesting to the eye.

Dead Radiance
Dead Radiance A Valkyrie Novel
by T.G. Ayer (part of a series) ages 13+
This book series combines Norse mythology, adventure, and romance — it’s on my list to read and then I’ll update this post with a review. (Although it gets great reviews from others on Amazon and Goodreads.) The first book is free on Kindle.

Elsker Saga
Elsker #1
by S.T. Bend by S.T. Bende ages 13+
I enjoyed this romantic first book about a girl who falls in love with a Norse god who is fated to die at Ragnarok. The first book is free on Kindle.

nordic norse mythology myths kids if you liked Magnus Chase The Sword of Summer, you'll also like these Norse mythology books

also read: Best Mystery Books, Best Adventure Books

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • WELCOME

    Hi! I’m Melissa Taylor, mom, writer, & former elementary teacher & literacy trainer. I love sharing good books & fun learning resources.

    More About Me

  • STAY INFORMED
    Enter your email address to receive updates on all of our book reviews.