If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books

This post may contain affiliate links.
Facebook
Twitter

If your beginning reader loves The Magic Tree House books and they’ve finished the entire series, they’re probably wondering what books to read next. Not to worry. I’ve made a list of suggestions for your Magic Tree House fans. Try these read alike books with your readers who are ages 6 – 9.

The Magic Tree House books combine fantasy, sibling cooperation, history, and mystery in compelling, well-written stories. The books on this list also include some of those elements– and are at about the same reading level.

Magic Tree House Books

Magic Tree House Series
Order a boxed set and get started reading! We also love the audiobooks narrated by the author, Mary Pope Osborne.

Merlin Mission Series
These books are for more advanced readers. Read this series after the Magic Tree House.

Fact Tracker Books
These nonfiction books support readers with factual information about each book’s subject whether it’s mummies, pirates, or knights.

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Rise of the Earth Dragon (Dragon Masters) by Tracey West, illustrated by Graham Howells
In the times of castles and kingdoms, Drake learns he is a dragon master (and that dragons are real!) He must train with the other kids to master his dragon, an earth dragon. This is an adventurous fantasy chapter book that will interest almost any child as it has just the right amount of conflict, adventure, and excitement.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Last Firehawk: The Ember Stone
by Katrina Charman, illustrated by Jeremy Norton
Tag, an owl, is in training to become an Owl of Valor. One day while playing tag with his squirrel friend, Skyla, Tag finds a golden egg who hatches into a Firehawk, the last one alive. Tag and friends must keep the Firehawk, Blaze, safe. Then they’ll quest to find the magical stone that may save their land from the Vulture and his army of tiger bats. This easy chapter book introduces kids to epic fantasy stories with the theme of good vs. evil.

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
A to Z Mysteries by Rob Roy
This addictive mystery series will keep your kids reading for hours and days and months. My kids read them all more than once – we highly recommend this series!

This is a delightfully funny 20-book series about a boy named Wiglaf who attends a fairly terrible school for dragon slayers, has a pet pig who speaks pig Latin (HA) and is friends with Eric, who is Erica, a princess longing for adventure. The hapless and greedy director sends off his students in order for them to kill the dragons and steal their gold. In order to kill the dragons, the students must find figure out the dragon’s weakness which, in the first book is bad knock-knock jokes that make the dragon explode! Classic kid humor.
The Secrets of Droon by Tony Abbott, illustrated by Tim Jessell
My oldest daughter read most of this series of books about kids who are transported to another world — one where there are magic and magical creatures. But how will they get home?
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Key Hunters and the Mysterious Moonstone
 (Key Hunters #1) by Eric Luper
In this first book, two friends discover a letter from their favorite librarian saying she’s trapped in a book. They decide to go into a book to rescue her. They arrive in 19th century England to help a detective find a stolen gem. Here the story starts racing along with perfect pacing and entertainment value. If you like this story, there are already five more books in the series to keep you reading.

The Philly Fake Ballpark Mysteries
by David A. Kelly, illustrated by  Mark Meyers
Not only is this a well-written mystery, but I also love how the author included so much history within the story. It’s one of my top picks for early chapter books.

Mrs. Frogbottom’s Field Trips I Want My Mummy
 
by Nancy Krulik
Welcome to 4th grade with a teacher who isn’t like any other teachers…mostly because of her magic map that transports the entire class all over the world. In this story, Mrs. Frogbottom takes the class to Egypt — and our narrator, Tony, does not like it one bit, not the black cat following them, not that his friend Sofia disappears and not that Aiden wanders into a tomb where the friends get trapped! Camels, too much sand, pyramids, tombs, and an actual mummy make this terrified student very glad to go back home. This educational adventure series is off to a great start. Next stop, Scotland.

Secret Spy Society The Case of the Missing Cheetah
by Veronica Mang
Three friends out that their teacher is a spy…and when she catches them watching her, they meet her spy friends. The female spies, all historically famous from different time periods, ask the friends to help them spy on a neighbor because they think that he kidnapped Josephine Baker’s pet cheetah. Not only do the girls spy on him, but they sneak into his house, find the cheetah, and get caught. Luckily, the Lady Spies come to the rescue! Afterward, the girls decide to emulate their new spy friends and make a spy club of their own.


Zebra at the Zoo: Mysteries on Zoo Lane
 
by Patricia Reilly Giff, illustrated by Abby Carter
Relatable and lovely, this beginning chapter book is about making mistakes, fixing them, saving animals, and kindness. Alex is having a tough day. Before school, he snuck into the zoo and gets caught. At school, he doesn’t get his favorite animal, the red panda, for his animal report —  instead, he gets the wolf. Even worse, his cat Oreo is missing! When he stops to help his friend Callie who is crying, his kindness solves both their problems.


Undersea Mystery Club Problem at the Playground
by Courtney Carbone, illustrated by Melanie Demmer
Not only is this beginning chapter book a creative, entertaining mystery story with adorable full-color illustrations but it shows the power of problem-solving, listening, and working together. Violet and her best friend, the always-hungry narwhal named Wally, need to find out who is sabotaging the playground. Helpful back matter provides information and photos about decorator crabs, narwhals, and civil engineers.


The Fabled Stables Willa the Wisp
 
by Jonathan Auxier, illustrated by Olga Demidova
Auggie, the only human, lives on an island of mythical creatures but he’s lonely. When a new stall magically appears, Auggie enters and meets a Wisp who is hunted by ruthless magical poachers. It’s a darling start to a new series perfect for fantasy-loving readers.

Super Detectives Simon and Chester 
by Cale Atkinson
A new, funny beginning graphic novel! Nic and his ghost friend Simon are bored so they dress up and pretend to be detectives. The friends advertise but no one shows up — except a mysterious pug who doesn’t belong to them. Who is the pug? The detectives ask around and follow clues — and it’s hilarious!

Magic on the Map: Let’s Moooove!
 
by Courtney Sheinmel and Bianca Turetsky, illustrated by Stevie Lewis
The sibling’s parents buy a camper that turns out to be magical and transports them to locations around the United States where the two experience the local culture with adventures and excitement. In this first book, Finn and Molly go to Colorado. Book two takes place in New York City. Yes, it sounds like the Magic Tree House but with a camper and in the present day. However, it makes up for that with its settings that will build a child’s knowledge of U.S. geography and culture.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Magical Animal Adoption Agency Clover’s Luck
 by Kallie George, illustrated by Alexandra Boiger
Clover discovers and volunteers to work at the magical animal adoption agency in a deep part of the woods. But after just one day, Mr. Jams leaves Clover in charge by herself. That’s when Clover faces a wicked witch and an irritating princess, all the while trying to take care of the animals.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Ranger in Time #1: Rescue on the Oregon Trailby Kate Messner, illustrated by Kelley McMorris
Ranger, a golden retriever trained for search-and-rescue, travels back to the Oregon Trail to help a family in need. It’s a simple story that introduces the ups and downs of traveling on the Oregon Trail, first in a historical fiction series for beginning readers.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Whodunit Detective Agency The Diamond Mystery
 by Martin Widmark, illustrated by Helena Willis
Friends and kid detectives, Jerry and Maya, go undercover in a jewelry store to figure out which of the three employees is stealing diamonds from the owner. It’s puzzling since all the employees are searched before they can leave the store. How are the diamonds going missing and who is taking them? This is a well-written adventure with good pacing and enjoyable characters.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Whatever After: Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski
Once upon a time, a regular girl and her brother accidentally went into a fairy tale. And messed it all up. (Whoops.) We love all the books in this series so far. The author cleverly reminds us of familiar fairy tales and the perils when you mess with the plot… These kept both my kids reading and reading.


Of Giants and Ice
 by Shelby Bach
When Rory finds out that her new after-school club at Ever After School is a fairy tale for fairy tale characters. In fact, her first day she fights a real dragon! We learn that all the kids will be assigned their own character in a familiar tale – and the chance to prove themselves. It’s also the beginning of acceptance for Rory – finding friends for the first time and learning about herself. Love it!
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Hamster Princess Harriet the Invincible
 by Ursula Vernon
This is a HILARIOUS remix of Sleeping Beauty. In this (much better) retelling, the princess realizes she can’t die until she’s 18 so therefore, she must be INVINCIBLE!! So far we have loved every story in this series.
If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Zoo Camp Puzzle
by Gail Herman
Ava and Rosie reluctantly move to the zoo for the summer with their brother, writer mom, and teacher dad. They become worried about missing pronghorns and suspicious trucks just outside the fences. With the help of their brother Ethan, the siblings must figure out what’s happening and how to keep the animals safe. Throughout the book, you’ll find pages with activities like puzzles and mazes as well as information about the animals at the zoo.
Magic Tree House Read Alike Books
KEEP READING

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  • WELCOME

    Hi! I’m Melissa Taylor, mom, writer, & former elementary teacher & literacy trainer. I love sharing good books & fun learning resources.

    More About Me

  • STAY INFORMED
    Enter your email address to receive updates on all of our book reviews.