If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books

This post may contain affiliate links.
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

If your beginning reader loves The Magic Tree House books and they’ve finished the entire series, they’re probably wondering what books to read next. Not to worry. I’ve made a list of suggestions for your Magic Tree House fans. Try these read alike books — books with mystery, adventure, and fantasy that will keep your growing reader reading and reading… (Good for ages 6 – 9.)

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Rise of the Earth Dragon (Dragon Masters) by Tracey West, illustrated by Graham Howells
In the times of castles and kingdoms, Drake learns he is a dragon master (and that dragons are real!) He must train with the other kids to master his dragon, an earth dragon. This is an adventurous fantasy chapter book that will interest almost any child as it has just the right amount of conflict, adventure, and excitement.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Last Firehawk: The Ember Stone
by Katrina Charman, illustrated by Jeremy Norton
Tag, an owl, is in training to become an Owl of Valor. One day while playing tag with his squirrel friend, Skyla, Tag finds a golden egg who hatches into a Firehawk, the last one alive. Tag and friends must keep the Firehawk, Blaze, safe. Then they’ll quest to find the magical stone that may save their land from the Vulture and his army of tiger bats. This easy chapter book introduces kids to epic fantasy stories with the theme of good vs. evil.

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
A to Z Mysteries by Rob Roy
This addictive mystery series will keep your kids reading for hours and days and months. My kids read them all more than once – we highly recommend this series!

This is a delightfully funny 20-book series about a boy named Wiglaf who attends a fairly terrible school for dragon slayers, has a pet pig who speaks pig latin (HA) and is friends with Eric, who is Erica, a princess longing for adventure. The hapless and greedy director sends off his students in order for them to kill the dragons and steal their gold. In order to kill the dragons the students must find figure out the dragon’s weakness – in the first book, it’s bad knock-knock jokes that make the dragon explode! Classic kid humor.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Magical Animal Adoption Agency Clover’s Luck
 by Kallie George, illustrated by Alexandra Boiger
Clover discovers and volunteers to work at the magical animal adoption agency in a deep part of the woods. But after just one day, Mr. Jams leaves Clover in charge by herself. That’s when Clover faces a wicked witch and an irritating princess, all the while trying to take care of the animals.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Ranger in Time #1: Rescue on the Oregon Trail by Kate Messner, illustrated by Kelley McMorris
Ranger, a golden retriever trained for search-and-rescue, travels back to the Oregon Trail to help a family in need. It’s a simple story that introduces the ups and downs of traveling on the Oregon Trail, first in a historical fiction series for beginning readers.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
The Whodunit Detective Agency The Diamond Mystery
 by Martin Widmark, illustrated by Helena Willis
Friends and kid detectives, Jerry and Maya, go undercover in a jewelry store to figure out which of the three employees is stealing diamonds from the owner. It’s puzzling since all the employees are searched before they can leave the store. How are the diamonds going missing and who is taking them? This is a well-written adventure with good pacing and enjoyable characters.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Whatever After: Fairest of All by Sarah Mlynowski 
Once upon a time, a regular girl and her brother accidentally went into a fairy tale. And messed it all up. (Whoops.) We love all the books in this series so far. The author cleverly reminds us of familiar fairy tales and the perils when you mess with the plot… These kept both my kids reading and reading.

 

The Secrets of Droon by Tony Abbott, illustrated by Tim Jessell
My oldest daughter read most of this series of books about kids who are transported to another world — one where there are magic and magical creatures. But how will they get home?

 


If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Zoo Camp Puzzle
by Gail Herman
Ava and Rosie are not excited to move to the zoo for the summer with their brother, writer mom, and teacher dad. But once they arrive, they change their minds quickly. Now they’re really worried about the missing pronghorns and the suspicious trucks just outside the fences. With the help of their brother Ethan, the siblings must figure out what’s happening and how to keep the animals safe. Throughout the book, you’ll find pages with activities like puzzles and mazes as well as information about the animals at the zoo. You’ll love both the mystery story and the factual sections of information. It’s really well done! Also in the series: Puppy Rescue Riddle.

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Key Hunters and the Mysterious Moonstone
 (Key Hunters #1) by Eric Luper
Have you seen this fantastic new easy mystery series for early elementary students yet? In this first book, two friends discover a letter from their favorite librarian saying she’s trapped in a book. They decide to go into a book to rescue her. They arrive in 19th century England to help a detective find a stolen gem. Here the story starts racing along with perfect pacing and entertainment value. If you like this story, there are already five more books in the series to keep you reading.

 


If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Of Giants and Ice by Shelby Bach
When Rory finds out that her new after-school club at Ever After School is a fairy tale for fairy tale characters. In fact, her first day she fights a real dragon! We learn that all the kids will be assigned their own character in a familiar tale – and the chance to prove themselves. It’s also the beginning of acceptance for Rory – finding friends for the first time and learning about herself. Love it!

 

If You Love The Magic Tree House, Try These Read Alike Books Next
Hamster Princess Harriet the Invincible
 by Ursula Vernon
This is a HILARIOUS remix of Sleeping Beauty. In this (much better) retelling, the princess realizes she can’t die until she’s 18 so therefore, she must be INVINCIBLE!! So far we have loved every story in this series.

 

In this charming easy chapter book, Amy finds and secretly cares for a kitten. We learn that the kitten does belong to someone, an older person with a bossy bigger cat so the kitty didn’t get enough to eat or any attention and ran away. Luckily, all’s well that ends well, Amy gets to keep the kitty! This book is a good choice for animal lovers. (If you like this book, you may like to read more in the Pet Rescue Adventures series.)

 


The Philly Fake Ballpark Mysteries
by David A. Kelly, illustrated by  Mark Meyers
Not only is this a well-written mystery, I love how the author included so much history within the story. It’s one of my top picks for early chapter books.

 


Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures
 by Jackson Pearce and Maggie Stiefvater
If you like mythical creatures, independent thinkers, and mysteries, you’ll love this first book in the Pip Bartlett series. Pip’s world is just like ours except for one significant difference — magical creatures exist and often are pets! Pip gets to help out her aunt for the summer, a magical creatures veterinarian. When Fuzzles start appearing and bursting into flame, Pip and her friend Tomas must get to the bottom of the problem.

 

read alikes for kids who love The Magic Tree House
Marguerite Henry’s Misty Inn Runaway Pony #3
 by Kristin Earhart 
While their parents finish fixing up the recently purchased house to be a bed and breakfast, siblings Willa and Ben help their grandmother take care of the pony’s she’s rehabilitating. Both kids can’t figure out why the pony’s keep escaping but they do know that they’d be the perfect new owners for Starbuck, their favorite pony. Children will find this to be a well-written and easy-to-read story with an interesting plot, especially for animal-lovers. It might be fun to read one of the books which inspired these stories such as Misty of Chincioteqgue, — but have an adult read it aloud because it’s a more difficult reading level.  See other books in this easy chapter book series: Buttercup Mystery #2 and Welcome Home #1.

 

read alikes for kids who love The Magic Tree House
Get to Work, Hercules! (Myth-O-Mania) 
by Kate McMullan 
This book got us hooked on the Myth-O-Mania series. It’s so hilarious! Hades narrates the TRUE stories of the Greek Myths with panache. (Apparently, his younger brother Zeus is a big fat liar and edited all the myths to make himself look good.) In this story, Hades watches over his young, not-too-smart nephew, Hercules whom Hera has it out for — since he’s the son of Zeus from another woman. LOVE it!

 

read alikes for kids who love The Magic Tree House
I Survived
 by Lauren Tarshis
Wow – these are one of my favorite discoveries this year! They’re excellent, fast-paced adventures set during significant historical events. Your kids will zip through these fascinating adventures. And, like the Magic Tree House books, there are a lot of books in the series. The books always are about a young person trying to survive a historically important, life-changing event.

 

read alikes for kids who love The Magic Tree House
Secret Agent, Jack Stalwart by Elizabeth Singer Hunt
In this action-packed new series, nine-year-old secret agent Jack Stalwart travels the globe in search of his missing older brother while solving international crimes for the Global Protection Force.

 

read alikes for kids who love The Magic Tree House
The Great Shelby Holmes
by Elizabeth Eulberg
This Sherlock-inspired book is well-written and tells a great story that kids will enjoy. John Watson moves to Harlem with his mom who has recently left both the military and John’s dad. He meets a  unique crime-solving girl named Shelby Holmes who reluctantly allows him to tag along with her as she solves her newest mystery — the missing show-dog who disappeared from a classmate’s secure house.

 

If you love The Magic Tree House book series, here's what to read next (read alikes)

 

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • WELCOME

    Hi! I’m Melissa Taylor, mom, writer, & former elementary teacher & literacy trainer. I love sharing good books & fun learning resources.

    More About Me

  • STAY INFORMED
    Enter your email address to receive updates on all of our book reviews.