Books for Kids Who Like Junie B. Jones

This post may contain affiliate links.
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

Affiliate Links 150 2A mom asked me for books and book series that were like Junie B. Jones in reading level and interest. (About a first-grade reading level.)

I actually don’t like the Junie B. books. The grammar? I just can’t do it! Her sass? Hate it.

BUT, lots of kids like her. And if kids are reading, I’m (mostly) good with it. Plus, I can’t turn down a parent request to recommend books . . . 🙂

So if your child loves Junie B. Jones, here are the best book series ideas to keep her reading.

(Even better, these books don’t have bad grammar or sass like Junie!)

Books Like Junie B. Jones

I adore this series of books, and this latest one is just as fabulous as the rest! In this adventure, Dory is having some trouble with reading, especially the wanting to read part. Good thing her imagination can help! But, she better watch out for Mrs. Gobble Cracker who has turned into a kid and is still up to mischief. (This title is on my BEST BOOKS OF 2016 LIST!)
Books for Kids Who Like Junie B. Jones
Piper Morgan Joins the Circus
by Stephanie Faris, illustrated by Lucy Fleming
This is a cute and interesting new series about a girl whose mom moves a lot for different jobs. In this story, they’re living with the circus. I loved the plot and how Piper eventually makes friends and learns a routine but felt sad when the ending came and the mom’s job was done so they had to move. But, that leaves quite the opportunity for more jobs and more books . . . Also read: Piper Morgan to the Rescue and Piper Morgan in Charge!.


rainbowmagic
Rainbow Magic Fairies by Daisy Meadows
These are very predictable but my own daughters adored them. They’re about two human girls helping the magical fairies search for something Jack Frost’s goblins stole.

Never girls
Never Girls by Niki Thorpe
Accidentally, the friends travel from England to the Never Land world of Tinker Bell. What adventures they will have!

missysuperduper
Missy’s Super Duper Royal Deluxe by Susan Nees
This is a great easy chapter book for kids just beginning to read chapter books with bright and friendly illustrations to match. If you’re a fan of Junie B. Jones’ antics, Missy’s will also entertain.

badkitty
Bad Kitty by Nick Bruel
In a word: Hilarious. We all think Bad Kitty is very naughty. But, oh so funny. Kind of like Junie B. Jones!

daisydawson
Daisy Dawson by Steve Voake
Daisy can talk to animals. You’ll love her free spirit personality and her kindness in all sorts of adventures.

0-545-21173-5
Perfectly Princess by Alyssa Crowne
A series of colorful princesses (printed on the same color paper) stories at the same reading level as Junie B. Jones.

critterclub
The Critter Club by Callie Barkley
The girls in the Critter Club love animals and want to help them any way they can. Sweet stories!

kylie jean
Kylie Jean by Marci Peschke
Kylie Jean is all Texas, determined and spunky! These are very cute books with a lovable heroine.

ivy bean
Ivy and Bean by Annie Barrows
This daring duo seems an unlikely pair which makes their adventures all the more entertaining. Addicting reads.

candy fairies
Candy Fairies by Helen Perelman
Each of the candy fairies has a specialty. Yummy stories for sweet girls.

rescue princesses
Rescue Princesses by Paula Harrison
These princesses love animals and solve mysteries.

mermaid tales
Mermaid Tales by Debbie Daley
Fun books about friendship with mystery and adventure.

whatever after
Whatever After by Sarah Mylnowski
Once upon a time, a regular girl and her brother accidentally went into a fairy tale. And messed it all up. Whoops. We loved these mixed-up stories!

Hamster Princess books for kids who like Junie B. Jones
Hamster Princess: Harriet the Invincible  by Ursula Vernon
Talk about a HILARIOUS remix of Sleeping Beauty! In this (much better) retelling, the princess realizes she can’t die until she’s 18 so she concludes that she must be INVINCIBLE and acts accordingly. IF you like the humor of Junie B. Jones, I think you’ll enjoy these even more.

rainbow street shelter
Rainbow Street Shelter by Wendy Orr
Fantastic stories of mystery and compassion toward animals — great for any animal lover or Junie B. Jones fan.

lulu brontosaurus
Lulu and the Brontosaurus by Judith Viorst
Lulu is kind of sassy. But she learns her valuable lesson in this hysterical story. You’ll laugh through this one!

Beginning Chapter Books for kid who love Junie B Jones
Sofia Martinez My Vida Loca by Jacquline Jules (series)
Perfecto! My Vida Loca is a warm-hearted beginning chapter book about the adventures of a spunky girl named Sophia — from her singing (that annoys everyone except abuela) to a cooking mishap of arroz con leche that her familia helps her fix. I love the bright pink text that indicates the Spanish words (maybe 1 or 2 a page). Illustrations are fun, capturing the emotions and action perfectamente.
books for kids who like Junie B. Jones
Claudette is a dragon-slaying, mischievous girl who tricks her little brother and her best friend (a princess) into questing to kill the dragon. It’s a delightful graphic novel, I loved every second of it. Junie B. Jones fans will love this story.
Perilous Princess Plot books for kids who like Junie B. Jones
The Perilous Princess Plot (Buckle and Squash) 

Very sarcastic and funny humor will keep you entertained throughout this book about a silly sister obsessed with princes and her more steady sister who rescues her silly sister from a kidnapping plot. Also, the great illustrations will help beginning readers enjoy this beginning chapter book.
books for kids who like Junie B. Jones
The Greatest Star on Earth (Three-Ring Rascals)
When a newspaper reporter decides to write about the greatest star of the circus, all the performers worry so much that they end up sabotaging their own acts. Soon the circus is left with no performers and a stand-in ringmaster (who is helped along by the smart book-writing mice.)
books for kids who like junie b. jones
The Misadventures of Salem Hyde: Big Birthday Bash
In this Salem adventure, Salem predictably makes disasters happen everywhere she goes. She has some trouble with making things (herself) gigantic and other things (the birthday party kids) small. Hilarious, wacky, and totally enjoyable.
Beginning Chapter Books for kids who like Junie B
Princess Pink and the Land of  Fake-Believe
 
by Norah Z. Jones
This is a funny series that messes up familiar fairy tale stories. The cartoon-like illustrations and speech bubbles make it especially fun to read.

Which of these book series do you already know and recommend to other kids?

good books for kids who like Junie B. Jones

I’ve added each of these books to my new master book lists by age.

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest and Facebook for more ideas!

You Might Also Like

10 Responses

  1. Laura Tessieri says:

    Thank you so much for this post! My daughter found great new series to order from the library – just in time for vacation!

  2. I am so glad I found this post! My daughter received a set of Junie B. Jones books and we started reading one together, and I was HORRIFIED. I don’t even want to give books away. They should not even exist in this world. My daughter isn’t crazy about them either, thank goodness, but she likes the longform format so I will check out your recommendations. Thank you!

    1. Right? It’s so opposite of what we’re trying to teach kids about being polite and kind. Hope you find something better here. 🙂

  3. Thank you for this – I HATE Junie b Jones with her little sassy mouth – no reading her in this house! will definitely try these books out

  4. THANK YOU! for this list. I too can’t stand Junie b jones books, but my youngest daughter who received them as a Christmas gift wants me to read one in particular over and over. I need to get her off these books and this list just helped me! Much gratitude.

      1. I don’t think we need to label anyone here as right or wrong. We can just kindly say that we have different opinions.

  5. You should include on this list, Heidi Heckelbeck. What a delightful series, and perfect for little girls. It’s one of our favorites around our house.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • WELCOME

    Hi! I’m Melissa Taylor, mom, writer, & former elementary teacher & literacy trainer. I love sharing good books & fun learning resources.

    More About Me

  • STAY INFORMED
    Enter your email address to receive updates on all of our book reviews.